GPCs for 13th Parliament of Singapore Unveiled

The new line-up of Government Parliamentary Committees (GPC), announced on 13 Nov, for Singapore’s 13th Parliament will see four Members of Parliaments (MPs) getting leadership positions for the first time. 

They are  veteran MPs, Mr Vikram Nair, Mr Christopher de Souza for Mr Patrick Tay and Mr Seah Kian Peng. They will chair these respective GPCs – Defence and Foreign Affairs; Home Affairs and Law; Manpower; and Social and Family Development. 

The remaining GPCs  will also continue to be led by experienced MPs, with three new  MPs, Mr Mr Amrin Amin, Mr Chong Kee Hiong and Ms Sun Xueling named as deputies.  

GPCs were introduced in 1987 to act as a form of shadow opposition by scrutinising the legislation and programmes of ministries.

The full list on the leaders of the GPCs are:
Communications and Information Chairman: Mr Zaqy Mohamad
Deputy chairman: Ms Sun Xueling
Culture, Community and Youth Chairman: Mr David Ong
Deputy chairman: Dr Lim Wee Kiak
Defence and Foreign Affairs Chairman: Mr Vikram Nair
Deputy chairman: Mr Amrin Amin
Education Chairman: Ms Denise Phua
Deputy chairman: Dr Intan Azura Mokhtar
Environment and Water Resources Chairman: Ms Lee Bee Wah
Deputy chairman: Mr Gan Thiam Poh
Finance plus Trade and Industry Chairman: Mr Liang Eng Hwa
Deputy chairman: Mr Cedric Foo
Health Chairman: Dr Chia Shi-Lu
Deputy chairman: Dr Lily Neo
Home Affairs plus Law Chairman: Mr Christopher de Souza
Deputy chairman: Mr Edwin Tong
Manpower Chairman: Mr Patrick Tay
Deputy chairman: Mr Zainal Sapari
National Development Chairman: Mr Alex Yam
Deputy chairman: Mr Chong Kee Hiong
Social and Family Development Chairman: Mr Seah Kian Peng
Deputy chairman: Ms Tin Pei Ling
Transport Chairman: Mr Sitoh Yih Pin
Deputy chairman: Mr Ang Hin Kee

Source: Three newcomer MPs named deputies in line-up of GPCs (The Straits Times, 14 November 2015)

Next HDB Lease Buyback Scheme