First Sitting of 13th Parliament on 15 Jan

The first sitting of the 13th Parliament will be on 15 Jan, four months after the General Election, which saw the People’s Action Party returned to power with a landslide victory of 69.9% of the popular vote.

Parliament will commence at 3.30pm with the election of the Speaker of Parliament, followed by the swearing-in of the Members of Parliament (MPs) and Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMPs).

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had earlier indicated that he intends to nominate Madam Halimah Yacob for the post of Speaker.

President Tony Tan Keng Yam will deliver his Opening Address at 8.30pm that evening. Traditionally, his speech will set the priorities, policies and programmes of the Government for its five year-term. MPs will subsequently debate the address for five days, starting 25 Jan.

Source: New Parliament to sit on Jan 15, (The Straits Times, 23 Oct 2015)

Next Rules For SMEs Bidding Public Projects Eased